I Love Hackney Mayor's Civic Awards launched for 2018


Do you know an unsung hero whose remarkable achievements are helping make Hackney a better place to live, work or study? Then we want to hear about them.

Make a nomination to the third I Love Hackney Mayor’s Civic Awards, and help recognise, celebrate and reward the special people of our borough.

Perhaps you know someone who has gone above and beyond the call of duty in the community? Somebody who has overcome an extraordinary difficulty; a fabulous teacher or carer; a person who has shown immense courage; a tireless fundraiser or volunteer; or an individual who has gone that extra mile to better their neighbourhood. We want to hear their stories.


Philip Glanville, Mayor of Hackney
Hackney is a fantastic and welcoming place thanks to the hard work of those who go the extra mile for their communities. I’m pleased to announce the nominations for the Hackney Civic Awards are open again, last year’s winners and nominees were incredibly inspiring and gave us a chance to give proper recognition to some of those unsung heroes working in their communities. I would encourage residents to put in nominations and help us celebrate the very best of our borough.
Philip Glanville, Mayor of Hackney

Nominees for the civic awards can be of any age and from any background. However, if you are nominating who is under 18, please make sure you have a parent’s or guardian's permission to do so.

The winners from last year’s awards were Felicia Ogunleye a local befriender, Bobby Kasanga from Hackney Wick FC and Jenette Collins, co-founder of the Crib, who was nominated for her work with young people.

All nominations will be considered by a panel of judges.

Please submit your nominations by downloading an application online here and emailing it to tara.hudson@hackney.gov.uk. Or you can pick up the forms at Hackney Town Hall and libraries across the borough and post it to: Tara Hudson, Hackney Town Hall, Mare Street. E8 1EA.

Nominations close on Monday, 2 April.

The winners will be announced at the Council’s AGM on 23 May, where they will receive trophies and certificates.