Hackney schools impress at Hackney Design Awards 2010

Hackney’s new school buildings came out top at the Hackney Design Awards last week (Tues 23 Nov).

Clapton Girls’ Technology College in Clapton won two awards and the City Academy in Homerton received an award for its innovative design which ‘creates a calm and thought provoking environment’. Another school within the borough, The Bridge Academy, also received an award and was described by the judges as a ‘thrilling building’.

One of the two awards received by Clapton Girls’ Technology College was winner of the newly established People’s Choice Award which allows residents and visitors to vote for their favourite design from the shortlist.

Cheryl Day, Clapton Girls Technology College head teacher, said: “Winning the People’s Choice Award is fantastic. It’s an outstanding school and the buildings are just brilliant. We are really thankful to our architects Jestico + Whiles, builders Mansell, and of course Hackney Council and The Learning Trust.”

The college was also praised by the judging panel for refurbishing its existing buildings and constructing two new buildings on the campus, creating a ‘teaching environment of immense quality’.

Other winning designs included Stoke Newington Town Hall, the Barn and Eco Garden at Dalston’s Eastern Curve, and Bateman’s Row in Shoreditch.

The Hackney Design Awards are run by Hackney Council every two years and illustrate the Council’s commitment to the promotion and celebration of high quality design within the built environment.

Jules Pipe, elected Mayor of Hackney, said: “I would like to congratulate all those who won or were shortlisted for an award. I’m particularly pleased that so many schools and other Council schemes were recognised and would like to extend my thanks to all those involved.

“All of the schemes shortlisted demonstrate how inspirational design can help create great places to live, work and play.”

The winning designs were chosen by a judging panel of six experts in the field of architecture, development and regeneration. The judges included: architect Stephen Marshall, the panel chair; Lisa Rigg, from the Hackney Society and Tony Pidgley, Chairman of the Berkeley Group.

Mr. Pidgley, said: “More London Borough s should follow the example set by Hackney; projects like the Design Awards knit the community together and ensure buildings of integrity and quality are constructed."

For more information about the winners of the Hackney Design Awards 2010, please visit: