Hackney Design Awards winners announced

An Olympic venue, a community hub and a school were the winners at last night’s Hackney Design Awards 2012, which took place in newly refurbished Hackney Town Hall Assembly Rooms.

The 2012 Handball Arena and the Hackney Marshes Centre were the two schemes selected as winners by the panel of judges made up of experts in development and the built environment, including award-winning architects and a development expert from English Heritage.

Nick-named ‘The Copper Box’, the 2012 Handball Arena is one of only four permanent venues on the Olympic Park and is the third largest indoor arena in London.  Designed by Make, the judges praised the structure for its ‘overwhelming design poise and control’.  

The Stanton Williams designed Hackney Marshes Centre was also recognised as a winning scheme in a unanimous decision by the judging panel.

Urswick School was crowned winner of the People’s Choice Award, which allows residents and visitors to vote for their favourite design from the shortlist of 19 buildings and spaces.  Avanti architects were commissioned to design the 750 pupil secondary school as part of the Hackney’s Building Schools for the Future programme.

Richard Brown head teacher at Urswick School said: “We’re delighted to win, it’s testament to the level of support the children have for their new school.  Our results have improved significantly since we moved into the new building, which shows how creating the right learning environment can help young people to flourish.”

This is the fifth Hackney Design Awards run by Hackney Council every two years to illustrate its commitment to the promotion and celebration of high quality design within the built environment.

Jules Pipe, Mayor of Hackney, said: “I would like to congratulate all those who won or were shortlisted for an award.  The variety of schemes selected demonstrates the rich mix Hackney’s urban environment has to offer and how inspirational design can help to create great places to live, work and play.”  

For more information about the winners, commended and shortlisted schemes of the Hackney Design Awards 2012, please visit:


Notes to Editors

Judging panel
Alex Ely - partner, mae Architects and chair of judging panel
Matthew Lloyd - Matthew Lloyd Architects
Soraya Khan - Theis and Khan Architects
Andrew Earl - Design Director, Manhattan Lofts
Dr Nigel Barker - Head of Development Management London, English Heritage

•    Hackney Marshes Centre
•    2012 Handball Arena
•    Rear of 50 – 52 Amhurst Road
•    Cadogan Corner Town Houses
•    Haggerston School
•    The Tramshed
•    Urswick School

•    2 Ada Street
•    Bridport House
•    Bullion Room (Empire 2) and Chaplin Apartments
•    Clapton Common Play Area
•    Clissold House
•    Fabrications
•    Hackney House
•    Hackney Picturehouse
•    Lauriston Primary School
•    Orchard Primary School
•    Queensbridge Quarter – Phase 2
•    Woodberry Park