Mayor's Civic Awards now open

Hackney civic award winners 2018

Do you know an unsung hero whose achievements are helping make Hackney a better place to live, study or work? Then we want to hear about them.

Make a nomination to the fourth ‘I Love Hackney’ Mayor’s Civic Awards, and help recognise, celebrate and reward the special people of our borough.

Perhaps you know someone who has gone above and beyond the call of duty in the community? Somebody who has overcome an extraordinary difficulty; a fabulous volunteer, carer or community leader? If you know an individual that has gone the extra mile for their neighbors then we want to hear their story.



Philip Glanville, Mayor of Hackney
Thanks to the hard work of those who go the extra mile for their communities, Hackney is full of active citizens, campaigners and volunteers, who all essential parts of making it the welcoming and fantastic place it is today. I’m pleased to announce we are opening the civic awards for the fourth year running, so we can carry on celebrating the unsung heroes of Hackney. Last year’s winners and nominees were incredibly inspiring, and I would encourage all residents to put forward a nomination so we can give proper recognition to those in Hackney who really deserve it.
Philip Glanville, Mayor of Hackney

Nominees for the civic awards can be of any age and from any background. However, if you are nominating who is under 18, please make sure you have a parent’s or guardian's permission to do so.

The winners from last year’s awards were Barbara Layne a local befriender, Ngozi Headley-Fulani founder of domestic violence shelter Sistah Space, and Salmah Kansara a charity worker.

All nominations will be considered by a panel of judges.

Please submit your nominations by filling in the online form. Or you can pick up an application form at Hackney Town Hall and libraries across the borough and post it to: Tara Hudson, Hackney Town Hall, Mare Street. E8 1EA, or send via email to tara.hudson@hackney.gov.uk.

Nominations close on Tuesday, 2 April.

The winners will be announced at the Council’s AGM on 22 May, where they will receive trophies and certificates.