Hackney Design Awards 2010 - Still time to nominate best new buildings and spaces

Nominations open until 2 August

Judges and awards speaker announced - including Kieran Long and Sir Terry Farrell

There is still time to nominate the best new designed buildings and spaces in the borough, through the Hackney Design Awards 2010.

The awards are run by Hackney Council and illustrate its commitment to the promotion and celebration of high quality design within the built environment.

Nominations for buildings or designed spaces within Hackney that showcase high quality design are open until 2 August. Anyone can make a nomination, including architects who have completed a scheme and residents or visitors who have spotted an outstanding building in Hackney.

Entries to the Hackney Design Awards 2010 will be short-listed and judged by an independent panel. The final awards ceremony will be held in November.

Jules Pipe, elected Mayor of Hackney, said: “The Design Awards are a celebration of the great design and architecture in Hackney. The Council continues to encourage excellence in all development as we know that high quality buildings and public spaces make a real difference to our neighbourhoods.”

Judges announced

The nominations will be judged by experts in the field of architecture including Kieran Long, architecture journalist, critic and teacher; and Lisa Rigg of the Hackney Society. Key note speaker at the awards ceremony will be leading architect Sir Terry Farrell.

People’s Choice award

The Hackney Design Awards have been running every two years since 2004. For the first time, the 2010 awards include a People’s Choice award. This is a chance for anyone not on the judging panel to vote for their favourite from the entries short-listed by the judges.

All short-listed entries will appear in Hackney Today and on the Council’s website in early October. The short-listed entry which receives the most votes from the public will be announced the People’s Choice at the awards ceremony in November.

What can be nominated?

The nomination must:
•be in the borough of Hackney
•have been completed no earlier than 1 September 2008 and be fully functioning by the closing date for nominations – 2 August 2010

Entries for the following types of public or private development are encouraged:
•new buildings – residential, commercial, community, educational or industrial
•alterations to existing buildings – including extensions, refurbishment, conversions or restoration
•parks, gardens, pedestrian or play / recreational areas that include structural design elements.

How to nominate

For more information about the Hackney Design Awards 2010, and to make a nomination, please visit: or e-mail: or call: 020 8356 8141