Hackney Council shortlisted for National Transport Awards

Hackney Council has been shortlisted as local authority of the year in the National Transport Awards 2009. It has also been nominated in two other categories - cycling improvements and in road safety, traffic management and enforcement for its InRoads Road Safety DVD, aimed specifically at young African Carribean pedestrians, who were over-represented in traffic accidents.

The awards, organised in conjunction with Transport Times recognise Hackney’s investment over the last decade in walking and cycling networks, street improvements, road safety schemes and travel awareness programmes, reflected in increased levels of walking, cycling and use of public transport in the borough.

Achievements include:

•meeting the 2010 accident reduction targets three years early in 2007
•being one of the first local authorities in the country to adopt a 20mph policy for all its roads
•bringing four new East London Line stations to the borough
•reducing cycling accidents and offering free cycle training for every resident in the borough who wants it.

The Council has used a number of innovative ways to raise awareness of the benefits of cycling, including the Tour de Hackney, in partnership with the Shoreditch Trust to highlight cycling routes for inexperienced cyclists; and Wheels and Heels, a cycle fashion show in partnership with Tower Hamlets Council, which aimed to show young women that cycling is a stylish travel option.

These nominations follow Hackney Council’s success earlier this year, when it won the top prize as London Transport Borough 2009 at the London Transport awards for its achievements in increasing ‘green’ transport methods such as cycling, walking and public transport. The Council was also commended in the cycling improvements category.

Cllr Alan Laing, Hackney Council’s Cabinet Member for Neighbourhoods: “These nominations are further recognition of the investment Hackney is putting into making sustainable forms of transport such as walking, cycling and public transport safe, attractive and growing in popularity.”

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in London on 22 July, 2009.